Regions of Panama

Panamá is usually seperated into nine provinces (provincias) and two territories (comarcas).

The provinces are : Panamá, Chiriquí, Bocas del Toro, Coclé, Colón, Darién, Herrera, Los Santos and Veraguas. There are also two independent territories: Ngöbe-Buglé and Kuna Yala (San Blas Islands)

The politically seperated provinces are normally not very important for travelling through the country. Therefore we have seperated Panama in 5 travel regions, which we recommend you should visit.

Panama can be divided in 5 regions:

  • Panama–City: Including the panama-canal, although it also reaches the Caribbean cost.
  • The central Caribbean: The beginning of the canal and province capital Colón. In the south of Colón are beautiful beaches.
  • The central Pacific: Not too far from the capital, the central pacific coast passes over to the south-west into the peninsula Azuero.
  • West-Panama: Is consisted of the provinces Veraguas, Chiriquí and Bocas del Toro. West-panama adjoins to the border of Costa Rica.
  • East-Panama: The east encloses the wild province Darién, which reaches to the border of Columbia.

The most important cities of panama are listed below, you can find more information about them at each chapter of the region.

  • Panama-City - capital 
  • David - capital of the province Chririquí
  • Colon- capital of the province Colón
  • Santiago -capital of the province  Veraguas


politische Karte von Panama

wildlife in PanamaCoiba National Marine Parc

Gulf of Chiriqui, Centralpacific

Paradise to the west of Panama-City

The Nationalpark consists of the island Coiba, which is the largest Island in Central America. 37 other islands are located around there as well. These groups of islands are just 40 km away from the coast of Panama and the gulf of Chiriqui.  


guna IndianerThe Comarca Guna Yala

At the north-east coast of the Caribbean of Panama you can find the San Blas Islands An 

The beautiful island archipelago, which is known as "Guna Yala" by the locals (guna indians). The Comarca Guna Yala  is an autonomous place, which is  barely case dependent on Panama.

Bocas del toroBocas del Toro, Panama

Bocas del Toro is an exclusive vacation destination

Easy to reach on the Caribbean coast and close to the border of Costa Rica.
A l]number of small and larger islands, surrounded by crystal clear water and beaches. It is rich of palms and intact corals. This area is a diving paradise.

Contact us

Please fill out this for and we will come back as soon as possible

family vacations

Individual Trip Costa Rica

active Costa Rica travel

vip tours

VIP- Tours

Exclusive Tours, authentic with highest Standard

Abenteuer in Costa Rica

adrenalin and action

Adventure trips and highly active Tours

Nature and travel

Nature pure

Flora and Fauna are essential for us

Copyright © 1995- 2019 alautentico SA